WEST NORTHFIELD SCHOOL DISTRICT 31 MINUTES OF RE-ORGANIZING MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Per SP2135 the District 31 Board Meeting was held electronically and in-person in the Field Learning Center, 3131 Techny Road, Northbrook, Illinois April 28, 2021 at 8:00PM

CALL TO ORDER

The re-organizing meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by President Melissa Choo Valentinas at 8:00pm.

ROLL CALL

Board Men	nbers:	
Present:	Jeffrey Steres	In-Person
	Maria Vasilopoulos	In-Person
	Melissa Choo Valentinas	Virtual
	Daphne Frank	Virtual
	Laura Greenberg	Virtual

District Administration:

Present:
Dr. Erin K. Murphy, Superintendent of Schools
Mrs. Catherine M. Lauria, Asst Superintendent Finance & Operations/CSBO
Dr. April Miller, Principal Field Middle School
Mrs. Shaton Wolverton, Principal Winkelman School
Dr. Janine Gruhn, Assistant Superintendent of Student Services
Mrs. Becky Mathison, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction

A quorum of the Board was confirmed by Superintendent, Dr. Erin K. Murphy

ADDITIONS OR CHANGES TO THE AGENDA

None

RECOGNITION OF AUDIENCE

None

RE-ORGANIZING MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

OATH OF OFFICE TO NEWLY ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS

Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Erin K. Murphy, led the new/reelected Board members in the OATH of Office.

SELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND RECORDING SECRETARY PRO TEM

The Board agreed to have Melissa Choo Valentinas act as President Pro Tem and Tina Nielsen as the Recording Secretary Pro Tem.

Roll Call:

Aye: Maria Vasilopoulos, Jeffrey Steres, Laura Greenberg, Daphne Frank, Melissa Choo Valentinas, Meredith Estes, Allison Slade Nay: None.

ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

Member Allison Slade nominated herself. There were no other nominations. Allison Slade was declared President of the Board of Education.

Roll Call:

Aye: Daphne Frank, Maria Vasilopoulos, Jeffrey Steres, Laura Greenberg, Melissa Choo Valentinas, Meredith Estes, Allison Slade Nay: None.

Member Daphne Frank nominated Vice President Laura Greenberg to continue as Vice President of the Board of Education. Member Jeffrey Steres nominated Maria Vasilopoulos. There were no other nominations. Voting results were Maria Vasilopoulos 3, Laura Greenberg 4. Laura Greenberg was declared Vice President of the Board of Education.

Vice President Laura Greenberg nominated Daphne Frank to continue as Secretary of the Board of Education. Member Maria Vasilopoulos nominated Jeffrey Steres. There were no other nominations. Voting results were Daphne Frank 4, Jeffrey Steres 3. Daphne Frank was declared Secretary of the Board of Education.

SELECTION OF RECORDING SECRETARY

President Allison Slade nominated Tina Nielsen to continue as Recording Secretary. There were no other nominations. Tina Nielsen was declared Recording Secretary for the Board of Education.

Roll Call:

Aye: Melissa Choo Valentinas, Maria Vasilopoulos, Jeffrey Steres, Laura Greenberg, Daphne Frank, Meredith Estes, Allison Slade Nay: None.

SET DATES AND LOCATIONS OF REGULAR BOARD MEETINGS

President Allison Slade moved to approve the Board Meeting Dates for the 2021-2022 School Year as proposed by Superintendent Erin Murphy. Vice President Laura Greenberg seconded the motion.

After further discussion on the locations and in-person meetings of the Board of Education, President Allison Slade stated that we will continue the same process with hopes that everyone will be vaccinated in the next couple of months.

Final Resolution:

Aye: Jeffrey Steres, Laura Greenberg, Daphne Frank, Melissa Choo Valentinas, Maria Vasilopoulos, Meredith Estes, Allison SladeNay: None.The motion passed 7:0.

SELECT ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVES

President Allison Slade stated that the Board of Education can express interest in the committees and final assignments and an updated policy will be brought to the June Board of Education meeting.

After further discussion, committee interest was expressed and assignments will be verified next month.

ADJOURN

President Allison Slade made a motion to adjourn. Member Jeffrey Steres seconded the motion.

Final Resolution:

Aye: Laura Greenberg, Daphne Frank, Melissa Choo Valentinas, Jeffrey Steres, Maria Vasilopoulos, Meredith Estes, Allison SladeNay: None.The motion passed 7:0 at 8:36pm.

Board President

Board Secretary

Date